Teen Marriage Under Florida Law

wedding.pngFlorida Law is very specific as to when a marriage license may be issued to persons under 18 years of age. Generally, a minor must be at least 16 years old and obtain written parental consent before a marriage license will be issued. For minors under the age of 16, marriage licenses will not be granted even with the consent of the parents.

However, there are exceptions if a child is involved. For instance, if two minors already have a child, they may petition a County Court Judge to issue a marriage license by submitting an application confirming under oath that they are the parents of a child. Additionally, if a minor’s pregnancy is verified by the written statement of a licensed physician, the County Court Judge may, at his or her discretion, issue a license to marry.

Additional exceptions can be complicated and are often determined on a case by case basis. Should you have any questions relating to a teenage marriage and/or teenage pregnancy, feel free to contact me a Jacksonville Family Law Attorney today.

Contact Information