Florida Divorce Residency Requirement

residency.jpgAccording to Florida Law, an individual seeking a divorce must be a resident of the state for 6 months prior to filing for divorce. While some states have an additional divorce waiting period to make sure couples are absolutely certain about ending their marriage, Florida has no statutory waiting period. After the 6 month residency requirement is met, a divorce can be filed in Florida. The Petition for Dissolution of Marriage should be filed in either: (1) the county where the Petitioner resides or (2) the county where the parties last lived together prior to separating.

As a Jacksonville Divorce Attorney, I am familiar with how to expedite divorce cases. If you would like to learn more about the Simplified Divorce Procedures in Florida, feel free to contact me any time!

Contact Information